Virginia Hamilton

Virginia Hamilton

Virginia Hamilton


A well-known author of books for children, Virginia Hamilton was the ninth author featured in the Contemporary American Authors Lecture Series at Marygrove College on April 25, 1997.

Hamilton was born March 12, 1936, in Yellow Springs, Ohio. She studied at Antioch College, Ohio State University, and the New School for Social Research. She married author Arnold Adoff. They have two children and live in Yellow Springs, Ohio.

Virginia Hamilton is one of the most prolific and influential authors of books about black children. Her books include The House of Dies Drear (1968); The Planet of Junior Brown (1971); M.C. Higgins the Great (1974); Brother Rush, Sister Moon (1982); The People Could Fly (1985); and African American Folktales, Fairy Tales, and True Tales (1985).

The recipient of nearly every major award and honor in her field, Virginia Hamilton has received the Newberry Award, a MacArthur Foundation Fellowship, the Edgar Allan Poe Award, a Lewis Carroll Shelf Award, and the National Book Award.

Hamilton on her writing remarks, "There is no clear way to explain how it is that I never cease having new ideas for books, nor the desire to work so intensely at writing them."

Contemporary American Author Lecture Series (CAALS)

Contemporary American Authors Lecture Series (CAALS)

The CAALS brings a nationally-known author to Marygrove College each year for a public lecture and a seminar with students.

Financial Aid Available

Learn More