Paule Marshall

Paule Marshall

Paule Marshall


Novelist Paule Marshall visited Marygrove College on April 19, 1991. She was the third author featured in Marygrove’s Contemporary American Authors Lecture Series.

Marshall was born April 9, 1929, in Brooklyn, N.Y.  Marshall attended Brooklyn College and Hunter College.

Her works include the novel Brown Girl Brownstones (1981); short story collection Reena and other Stories, including the novella "Merle" and stories "The Valley Between," "Brooklyn," and "To Da-duh, in Memoriam" (1983); the novel Praisesong for the Widow (1983); The Chosen Place, The Timeless People (1984); short story collection Soul Clap Hands and Sing (1987); and the the novel Daughters (1991). Marshall’s articles and essays have appeared in the New York Times Book Review, the New York Times Magazine, Harper’s, Vogue, Mademoiselle, MS., and Freedomways.

Marshall has received numerous awards and honors in her distinguished career, including a Guggenheim Fellowship and a PEN/Faulkner Award.  She won the John Dos Passos Prize for Literature, the National Institute of Arts award for Soul Clap Hands and Sing, and The Columbus Foundation American Book Award for Praisesong for the Widow.

On the rain-soaked Friday evening of April 19, 1991, Marshall spoke to a crowd of 300 people.  She read from her novel Daughters at the public reading.

Contemporary American Author Lecture Series (CAALS)

Contemporary American Authors Lecture Series (CAALS)

The CAALS brings a nationally-known author to Marygrove College each year for a public lecture and a seminar with students.

Financial Aid Available

Learn More