Octavia E. Butler

Octavia E. Butler

Octavia E. Butler


Octavia E. Butler, the sixth speaker in the Contemporary American Author Lecture Series, visited Marygrove College on April 22, 1994.

Born in Pasadena, California in June 1947, Butler studied at Pasadena City College and at California State University at Los Angeles. She received her Masters degree from the University of California at Los Angeles.

Her novels include Patternmaster (1976), Mind of My Mind (1977), Survivor(1978), Kindred (1979), Wild Seed (1980), Clays’s Ark (1984), The Xenogenesis Series: Dawn (1987), Adulthood Rites (1988), Imago (1989), Parable of the Sower (1993), Bloodchild (1995), and Parable of Talents (1998). She has contributed to periodicals including American Vision, Essence, Future Life, Isaac Asimov’s Science Fiction Magazine, Omni, Transmission, and Writers of the Future. She has contributed to the anthologies Clarion (1970) and Chrysalis 4 (1979).

She received the YWCA Achievement Award for Creative Arts, the Hugo Award of the World Science Fiction Society, the Speech Sound Award, the Nebula award, the Science Fiction Writers of America Locus Award, the Locus Magazine Best Novelette Award, and The Science Fiction Chronicle Reader Award.

Contemporary American Author Lecture Series (CAALS)

Contemporary American Authors Lecture Series (CAALS)

The CAALS brings a nationally-known author to Marygrove College each year for a public lecture and a seminar with students.

Financial Aid Available

Learn More