Author Gloria Naylor

Gloria Naylor

Gloria Naylor


Gloria Naylor was the first author in the Marygrove College Contemporary American Author Lecture series.  Her event was held in April, 1989.  She prepared a reading of the novel The Women of Brewster Place for students from Marygrove and other area colleges and high schools.

Naylor's novel won the American Book Award for best first novel.  She is also winner of a Distinguished Writer Award from the Mid-Atlantic Writers Association, a National Endowment for the Arts Fellowship, and the Candace Award of the National Coalition of One Hundred Black Women.  She has received a Guggenheim Fellowship and the Lillian Smith Award.

Born in New York City on January 25, 1950, she was the first child of Roosevelt and Alberta McAlpin Naylor.  Naylor entered college to become a nurse and later switched to English.  She received her Bachelor of Arts degree from Brooklyn College and a Masters Degree in African American Studies from Yale University.

Naylor is the author of four novels, The Women of Brewster Place (1985), Mama Day (1988), Bailey's Cafe (1992), and The Men of Brewster Place (1997).  The Women of Brewster Place was made into a stage production in 1994.

Contemporary American Author Lecture Series (CAALS)

Contemporary American Authors Lecture Series (CAALS)

The CAALS brings a nationally-known author to Marygrove College each year for a public lecture and a seminar with students.

Financial Aid Available

Learn More