Ernest J. Gaines

Ernest J. Gaines

Ernest J. Gaines


Ernest J. Gaines was the tenth guest in the Marygrove College Contemporary American Author Lecture Series on April 24, 1998.

Critically well-regarded as a novelist and short story writer, Gaines is the author of several novels, including The Autobiography of Miss Jane Pittman, his most acclaimed work which reflects African-American experience.

Gaines received the coveted John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation Fellowhip in 1993. In 1996, he was named a Chevalier de l’Ordre des Arts et des Lettres, one of France’s highest decorations. Professor Gaines is Writer in Residence at the University of Southwestern Louisiana in Layfayette, Louisiana.

Gaines is also the author of Catherine Carmier (1964), Of Love and Dust (1967), Bloodline (1968), The Autobiography of Miss Jane Pittman (1971), In My Father’s House (1978), A Gathering of Old Men (1983), and A Lesson Before Dying (1993).

The TV adaptation of Miss Jane Pittman earned nine Emmy Awards.  His most recent novel, A Lesson Before Dying, was nominated for a Pulitzer Prize and earned the National Book Critics Circle Award for Fiction in 1993. The novel was also dramatized in a movie in 1999.

At a breakfast held in his honor on the morning of Saturday, April 25, 1998, Gaines enthralled Marygrove students as he answered questions and told stories of his early days as a developing writer.

Contemporary American Author Lecture Series (CAALS)

Contemporary American Authors Lecture Series (CAALS)

The CAALS brings a nationally-known author to Marygrove College each year for a public lecture and a seminar with students.

Financial Aid Available

Learn More